About the Kohlers

This blog chronicles the life of the Kohler family. Because this blog is public, I won’t use anyone’s names but my own. I am The Gardener, Laura, and my husband is The Man. The kids are Big Sprout (5 year old at kindergarten level) and Little Sprout (3 year old, currently enrolled in private preschool). We are a secular homeschooling family, so this blog will follow our homeschool journey, as well as daily life. Our Great Dane, Bruce, will also likely make appearances.

About Us

The Gardener: I am a wife and mother. I also teach Sound Beginnings music classes for toddlers and preschoolers, and I work part-time as an optician. I enjoy gardening, writing, reading, and making my home a comfortable place to be. I do not enjoy laundry or cleaning bathrooms.

The Man: He is a husband and father. He is a software engineer at a local company. He enjoys watching movies and spending time with his family.

Big Sprout: Big is five years old and the reason we are homeschooling. He started kindergarten at the public school in August 2016, but by mid-October he was asking about doing school at home. I was on the fence about public school as it was, so the shift to homeschooling was an easy one to make. Big Sprout loves everything dinosaur and Pokemon.

Little Sprout: Little is three years old and enrolled in private preschool two days a week this year. She is very social and the outlet she gets there is great to manage her social needs. She loves to play parent to her dolls and stuffed animals, and does her best to keep up with Big Sprout both academically and physically.

Advertisements